My Week 12 “Uncluttered” email assignment

You haven’t heard from me in a while.  Why?  Well, I’ve been taking an on-line class.  I’ve been posting a bunch on Facebook too, but you most likely haven’t seen those either, because I’ve been posting in the closed “Uncluttered” Facebook group.  What a concept.  Truly, that’s where the magic happened.

Tomorrow is the last day of this magnificent 12 week class.  Part of our assignment for this week was to write a “looking back” email to the class creator, Joshua Becker.  I wanted to share that email with you, along with the before and after pictures that I posted on Facebook today.

Hi Joshua,

Thank you so much for this class.  Wow.  I hardly know where to begin.

How about here?  I spent most of 2013 in a Celebrate Recovery step study, focusing on untangling the ties of co-dependency, depression and anxiety in my life.  I spent a lot of time writing (and reading out loud) in that step study, and my “step-sisters” really liked what I had to say.

Then, in 2014, after many, many people over the years had told me, “You should write a book!”, someone finally said, “You should write a blog!”.  Oh, I can do that.  I started my blog on 7-16-14 and after a few posts, changed the tag line to: “Sharing everyday miracles to encourage those who struggle with depression and anxiety.”

The big break-through happened on my 43rd birthday, 10-19-14, when I wrote and posted “Moment by Moment.”  After I posted it, I shared it with each person on Facebook who wished me a happy birthday.  And then I continued to share it for the next year on each Facebook friend’s birthday.

Ever since then, I’ve written a “special” post for my birthday, following the same pattern I started in 2014.  My post last year was “The Best is Yet to Come.”

And I just shared this on Facebook earlier today, along with some before and after pictures:

“When I wrote last October’s blog post, “The Best is Yet to Come“, I had no idea that “the best” would start with this class.  I’m so glad my 12 year old Jordan Rose encouraged me to pay the $89 to take the 12 week class. But you don’t have to pay $89. Now that I’ve taken it, I have permission to share with you the discount code to take the same class, starting September 4th, for 25% off: FF25. Now that I’ve paid once, I never have to pay again and I will definitely be taking the class again (for free) on September 4th. Join me! Truly, the best is yet to come.  🙂  https://my.becomingminimalist.com

When I found out that your class was $89, I had told Jordan Rose, “I have Peter Walsh’s book, “It’s All Too Much”.  Why don’t I just read that and do what it says?”  Well, I got that book in 2007.  How’s that plan been working for the last 11 years?  Jordan, a true un-clutterer at heart, thought it was wise for me to spend the money on the class, because then I would actually do it.  I likened it to spending money on Weight Watchers, which has worked very well for me in the past.  Get some skin in the game, and you’ll be motivated to take action.

And take action, we did.  🙂  Thank you again for offering this class.  I already know what my 2018 “special” birthday blog is going to be about.  🙂

Blessings to you,

-Beth

IMG_2526
My “why”
IMG_2112
Kitchen “before”
IMG_2437
Kitchen “after”
IMG_2121
Living room “before”
IMG_2213
Living room “after”
IMG_2114
My desk “before”
IMG_2527
My desk “after”
IMG_2115
Printer area “before”
IMG_2532
Printer area “after”
IMG_2117
File cabinets “before” (and Charlie’s behind)
IMG_2531
File cabinets “after”
IMG_2118
Mail & shredding area “before”
IMG_2530
Mail & shredding area “after”. I am definitely not a minimalist (yes, the American Girl dolls are staying), but I LOVE the clean spaces.
IMG_2130
Bedroom dressers/clean clothes “before”
IMG_2388
Bedroom dressers “after” (where are the clean clothes? Put away!). 🙂
IMG_2134
My closet “before”
IMG_2543
My closet now during “Project 333” experiment
IMG_2148
Basement family room area “before”
IMG_2428
Basement family room area “after”
IMG_2164
Front hallway “before”
IMG_2432
Front hallway “after”
IMG_2423
Just one of the VVA donations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.