Give us this day…

If you grew up saying “The Lord’s Prayer” or the “Our Father”, you know this phrase very well:

“Give us this day our daily bread”

I knew it, and I thought I knew what it meant.  It reminded me of the Israelites gathering manna in the wilderness and being told not to gather more than they needed for one day.  If they did gather more, it would be smelly and full of maggots by morning.  Yuck!  That lead me to believe that this “daily bread” had to do with guilt, not having more than our fair share, not taking more than we need.

What I didn’t realize was that, when the disciples asked Jesus how to pray and Jesus gave them “The Lord’s Prayer” and told them about daily bread, he was quoting Psalm 30:

“Two things I ask of you, Lord;
do not refuse me before I die:
Keep falsehood and lies far from me;
give me neither poverty nor riches,
but give me only my daily bread.
Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
and so dishonor the name of my God.”
-Psalm 30:7-9

When David wrote that Psalm, he was asking God for two important things:

1) Lord, please don’t give me too much, otherwise I’ll forget You
2) Lord, please don’t give me too little, otherwise I’ll steal and dishonor You

This had nothing to do with guilt and shame over having too much when others have so little.  This had to do with keeping our hearts right before God.  Very simple – don’t forget Me.  Don’t forget that everything you have I freely gave you because I love you.  And don’t forget that I will take care of your needs, even when it feels like I won’t.  My timing is perfect.  You may feel like I’m too slow to answer, but know that I am always working for you.  I am always right on time.  Please be patient.  Please don’t turn away from Me while you wait.  Please keep your focus on Me.  Hold My hand and let’s wait together.  I love you!

Thank you to Steve Norman for pointing out the “daily bread” distinction the weekend that K-Rock performed “Monopoly” at Kensington’s Troy campus.  I’m so glad I got to hear it four times that weekend so that it would sink in.  It’s so easy to forget.  It’s so important that we remember, so much so that I wrote about it here: Decide to Keep Deciding

And John Waller wrote a beautiful song used in the movie “Fireproof” about the importance of waiting, knowing that God is working:

“I’m waiting, I’m waiting on You Lord
And I am hopeful, I’m waiting on You Lord
Though it is painful, but patiently I will wait”
While I’m Waiting by John Waller

One thought on “Give us this day…

  1. Always very inspiring and educational. So thrilled that my daughter has become such a woman of God and loves to share her knowledge and love of God with others. Look how far you have come in these 20 years. God loves you and so do I. I always remember your saying “Jesus knows me, this I love”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

